Can. 495 §1. In each diocese a presbyteral council is to be established, that is, a group of priests which, representing the presbyterium, is to be like a senate of the bishop and which assists the bishop in the governance of the diocese according to the norm of law to promote as much as possible the pastoral good of the portion of the people of God entrusted to him.

Session XII (2007-2009)

Bishop Mario Grech

Ex-officio members
Mgr John B Gauci (Vicar General), Can Edward Xuereb (Judicial Vicar), Can Daniel Xerri (Seminary Rector)

Elected members
Can Michael Borg (Xagħra), Fr Charles Buttigieg (Qala), Fr Anthony Cilia SJ (Religious), Mgr Saviour Debrincat (Munxar), Can George Frendo (Saint George, Victoria), Can Michael Galea (Għarb), Fr Roberto Gauci (Kerċem), Fr George Mercieca (Xewkija), Can Michael Mintoff (Għasri), Mgr Saviour Pace (Nadur), Fr Joseph Piscopo (Saint Lawrence), Can Emmanuel Saliba (Żebbuġ), Mgr Lawrence Sciberras (Sannat), Can Joseph Sultana (Cathedral, Victoria), Fr Saviour Tabone (Fontana), Fr Joseph Xerri OFMConv (Religious), Mgr Joseph Zerafa (Għajnsielem)

Nominated members
Can Tarcisio Camilleri, Fr Giovanni Curmi, Mgr Carmel Hili, Fr Emanuel Magro, Mgr Carmel Refalo, Fr Alex Refalo, Fr Eddie Zammit, Fr Anthony Teuma

Can Daniel Xerri

Can Edward Xuereb